NNP Presidential Primary: Bawumia wins NPP headquarters with over 65%

In the New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) presidential primary held at the party’s headquarters, Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia secured victory.

Out of the 393 valid votes cast, Dr. Bawumia garnered 254, while Kennedy Agyapong, his closest competitor, received 133 votes.

Ing. Francis Addai-Nimoh received 4 votes, while former Minister for Agriculture, Dr Afriyie Akoto, garnered 2.

The voting process has concluded at all polling centres, and counting is underway.

The NPP went to the polls to elect its flagbearer for the 2024 general elections.

This critical poll involves over 200,000 party delegates and is seen as a pivotal step in the attempt by the party to break the eight-year election cycle pattern in Ghana.

The delegates, who made up the Electoral College comprise Members of Parliament, Metropolitan, Municipal and District Chief Executives, Ministers and their deputies, founding members of the NPP, members of the party’s National Council and patrons and Council of Elders.

The rest are regional party officers, constituency officers, constituency patrons, constituency elders, electoral area coordinators, polling station executives, overseas branches and members of Tescon, the tertiary students’ wing of the party.

The four contenders in the race are Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia, Assin Central MP, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, former Food and Agric Minister, Dr Owusu Akoto Afriyie, and former MP, Francis Addai-Nimoh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!