Georgia, Ukraine, Poland qualify for Euros

Georgia has made history by qualifying for their first international championship after beating Greece on 4-2 penalties in their Euro 2024 play-off.

Nika Kvekveskiri netted the winning penalty to send the home fans delirious after a tense goalless draw in regular and extra time.

Georgia will join Portugal, Czech Republic, and Turkey in Group F at the 2024 European Championship.

Broken Welsh hearts

Dan James’ penalty miss broke Welsh hearts as Poland progressed to the summer championship at their expense.

– Advertisement –
Ad imageAd image

Wales captain, Ben Davies described the heartbreak as a difficult one to take.

“It’s a difficult one to take, we put everything into the game, but in the end it wasn’t to be,” Davies told S4C.

“I don’t know what to say, it was a good performance, but the result is the most important thing, and that went against us tonight.

Ukraine in Utopia

Mykhailo Mudryk’s 84th winner sends war-torn Ukraine to their first major tournament since the Russian invasion in 2022 after beating Iceland 2-1 at the Stade Wroclaw in Poland.

Ukraine will join Belgium, Slovakia, and Romania in Group E at the European football extravaganza in Germany.

Teams qualified for Euro 2024 after the conclusion of the play-off rounds on Tuesday:

  • Group A: Germany, Scotland, Hungary, Switzerland
  • Group B: Spain, Croatia, Italy, Albania
  • Group C: Slovenia, Denmark, Serbia, England
  • Group D: Poland, Netherlands, Austria, France
  • Group E: Belgium, Slovakia, Romania, Ukraine
  • Group F: Turkey, Georgia, Portugal, Czech Republic
READ ALSO:  Otto Addo still not certain with first 11 against Uganda

Euro 2024 takes place in Germany from June 14-July 14

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!