General News

Some Forms Of Cricket You Should Know About

Test matches stand as the pinnacle of international cricket contests between nations. The primary aim of Test cricket is to assess and groom young players. The ICC (International Cricket Council) grants authorization for countries to participate in these matches. The ten countries permitted to play Test matches include England and the West Indies, with the latter considered as a separate entity for this purpose.

Here is the list of Test-playing nations, ranked by their initiation into the format:

  1. England
  2. Australia
  3. South Africa
  4. West Indies
  5. New Zealand
  6. India
  7. Pakistan
  8. Sri Lanka
  9. Zimbabwe
  10. Bangladesh
  11. Afghanistan
  12. Ireland

National League Systems

In the United Kingdom, they are termed counties, while in Australia, they are referred to as states, and in the West Indies, as islands. Matches in these systems typically last for three or four days.

Limited Overs Cricket

From the bowler’s perspective, this form of cricket involves a side view of the pitch. The bowler approaches from one side of the wicket, either ‘over’ or ’round’ the wicket. The game duration is determined by the number of overs, with each team having one inning. In case of rain or other disruptions, the ‘Duckworth–Lewis method’ is applied to calculate the target score for the team batting second.

One Day Internationals (ODI50)

ODIs are usually restricted to fifty overs per side, with each bowler allowed a maximum of ten overs. The highest team score recorded is England’s 481-6 against Australia on June 19, 2018, while the highest individual score is Rohit Sharma’s 264 off 173 balls for India against Sri Lanka.

READ ALSO:  Hopeson Adorye 'dynamite' interview: CID invites Accra FM journalist

Twenty20 Cricket (T20 Cricket)

Twenty20 cricket features twenty overs per side, and each bowler can bowl up to four overs, unlike the ten overs allowed in ODIs. The highest team score in this format is 263/5 by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) against Pune Warriors India (PWI) in the 2013 IPL season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles

Back to top button